Music.

I’m listening to “If You Ever Want to Be in Love” by James Bay, and hundred thoughts and memories are passing through my mind. The memories, though, bittersweet. I can see myself  sitting at my desk in Amstel, Amsterdam, and trying to figure out how the hell am I going to finish that last chapter I need for my Thesis, before the deadline. It’s funny that whenever I listen to James Bay or Hozier, I get vivid flashbacks from my life back in Amsterdam. That city! It only happens when I listen to those two artists. Their songs, somehow, must have gotten hardwired to my brain and they are now strongly connected to memories that I really hope they never fade.

“I literally can’t live without the presence of music in my life” is something I’ve heard from others and I always reply with enthousiasm”me neither”! This sweet addiction dates back to my early teen years. Since then, I listen to classic rock, (heavy) metal, alternative/folk and pop rock, and to other similar genres.  I don’t have a favourite artist or band. Generally, I don’t really have favourite things in my life; only things that I like and enjoy. Hmmm… Maybe Guns n’ Roses could be my favourite band of all times, and a song that truly speaks to me is “Heaven and Hell” by Black Sabbath, but still, I don’t want to categorize or discriminate anything.

Some people match the music they listen to their mood. Same goes for me. One morning I’ll be listening to Iced Earth and the next to Coldplay. You never know. But, I never leave home without my MP3 player. If I don t have it with me it feels like I left part of me at home.When you put your headphones on, you create a *me* moment whenever you are, even if it lasts fifteen minutes. You know what I mean, if sometimes you can’t wait to head out of home and find the perfect song in your list that will take you to wherever you have to go. Doesn’t it feel amazing?!e837a917c5fd4f4f27e280bb9c172a50

via Pinterest

Melody and lyrics. Oh! They create things, they tell all kinds of stories. As I’m typing this, I recall all these moments when a song gave me goosebumps, no matter how many times I listened to it! And I know that it’s not only me. How many things have we done, started or ended, celebrated with a song?! Probably countless things. A song is always there, to complement and complete a memory. Whatever that maybe.

Now a song came up to me; “Every Rose Has Its Thorn“. Read the lyrics and tell me whether you can relate to that story or not.

“I listen to our favorite song playing on the radio
Hear the DJ say love’s a game of easy come and easy go
But I wonder does he know?
Has he ever felt like this?
And I know that you’d be here right now
If I could have let you know somehow
I guess”

– Every Rose Has Its Thorn, Poison

And the moment when you listen to a song and you realize that it reminds you of certain people and your time together is priceless. “Sedated” or the “Work Song”(by Hozier), for instance, brings me back to coffee time at East 57 with my beautiful friend Patricia or MA Thesis planning and studying with my dear friend Erin in Amsterdam. “Magic” (by Coldplay) takes me back to the very moment of my flight from Amsterdam back to Greece (and I was crying, like a lot). And the list goes on and on. A song is always there to make sure that you’ll never forget of those little or big moments you had. At least this is what happens to me; especially with the little things.

Once music becomes part of your life, to the point where you cannot live without it, it also becomes part of *who you are*. It shapes you, it’s your helping hand, and it gives voice to your thoughts and emotions. There no other or more perfect way to express and damp down your feelings and emotions. Is there?! Me … I’m a very emotional person myself, and sometimes I really struggle to put whatever I’m thinking/feeling into words, so it’s a blessing to have a song that articulates all of *that* in a couple of minutes. It’s so perfect. It’s magic. How did humans even invent that?! Or was it in us, like from the beginning of our time? I want to be believe that it was always in us. However this happened, it’s the most beautiful thing.

bd0ce57386b81d1c2f8dc754e426d6a2

via Pinterest

9 thoughts on “Music.

Leave a Reply

