Things gone wrong

It’s been a rough day. However, it got a little bit better than yesterday. You know the feeling when you go through a period of time when everything seems fine, you’re fine, and then *Boom*! Something goes (terribly) wrong and it aaall goes to waste. Plans, thoughts, emotions. Disaster(?!)

Of course it happened to me. Like a million,and one, times before. For the past couple of weeks things looked alright. Not great, but for the most part it was all fine. And then, I did something wrong; a practical mistake due to lack of knowledge I can say, and had to face it. When I found out what had happened, I took the blame. It was me who actually *did* it, no matter what. I didn’t deny it. It was an honest mistake. I won’t get into further information concerning that event, though. What I want to focus on is the devastation that came right with it.

I was gutted. It felt horrible. And I felt like that neither for myself nor for what I did. I mainly cared about the fact that I cause so much discomfort to others, when it wasn’t their fault, to the point where they yelled at me. I know that, in the end, they probably didn’t mean it. The situation was tense. And worse things than this have happened. All in all, it was not *that* of a big deal, but it was still bad. I cried my eyes out the whole night and the day after. The fact that others have made similar mistakes just didn’t make me feel any better. To me it was unacceptable that I did it, and that I cause trouble. Later, I had a talk with some people who are experienced enough to tell me that it was all OK, and that I shouldn’t be feel this way for *nothing*. Took me a while to believe them and start to recover. I ended up having the worst puffy eyes and a terrible headache.

7c8beff0079fcb7adb4c960506862968

via Pinterest

When something goes wrong I usually don’t care about myself, and in such cases I never try to defend myself. Maybe that’s not OK. But, I lack self-confidence. If I had *just* a couple of drops of this magic draught, I would/could have accomplished so much more. I would be different. Better, probably. But, my self-esteem and confidence are so low. My altruism sometimes turns against me. It’s all part of who I am. I accept it not because it’s the easy thing to do, but because I know that my lack of somethings, perhaps makes me better in others. Overall, though, I feel disappointed that I cannot control to what extend something negative will affect me. I believe it’s hard to, because most of the times negative feelings strike you out of the blue. I really need to work on that. Make it a bit better. I know it will make a huge difference. The good thing is that I fully recognise what I am and what I’m not. It’s a start right?

Lately I’m keeping a journal. Makes things a little easier. If you feel that something is wrong, and that can be anything, don’t face it alone. Talk it out with someone. Normally, I wouldn’t face a problem right away. But, lately I speak up. Even if something was my fault, I try to be the first to say/do something about it. That’s a small step to face your fear(s).

P.S. : I read a great article earlier posted by Jenn Granneman on Upworthy, called “Highly sensitive people: Remember these 10 things when you feel anxious“. I recommend you read this.

Cheers all!

0bf12e976c4f0abf0c0534b082cf48e5

via Pinterest

10 thoughts on “Things gone wrong

  1. thenewmrsm2016 says:

    Remember no one is perfect. I train people for a job and even once they are trained in the job I always say you will make mistakes because you aren’t robots and we don’t expect you to be. I often think this applies in general life too. We arent perfect and we shouldn’t expect ourselves to be, you admitted your mistake and now you just need to move on. I’m the first one to feel negative thoughts for no reason too so I feel where you are coming from with that. I will often worry about things that no one would even think to worry about, sometimes I confide in people other times unfortunately it builds up and I end up totally stressed. I’m not perfect either 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • elenaflutterfly says:

      First of all, my issue had a happy ending. I figured it out today and it’s all OK. I feel so so relieved!
      Secondly, what you said was so nice, andso so true. Sometimes it’s hard to admit that you just did one thing wrong, and that it should be OK that you did it. People around us should also recognize it too.
      I’m on the control freak side. Many times I feel bad, anxious, and worried about things that no-one notices. Overthinking. Ugh… Sometimes you can’t just stop it. But, in the end we are going to be OK. Just need to work on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thenewmrsm2016 says:

        So pleased it all worked out ok for you . I’m pretty similar with being in control all the time, I worry about the little things all the time. Right now it’s an appointment tomorrow at 9am, I have to get through town at rush hour and parked for this appointment and I’ve thought of little else all day apart from how I’m going to get there and what time I need to leave! I’m pretty sure most people would just get up and leave like it’s no big thing! But yes we work on it and keep confiding in those around us to keep us sane! Glad I could help in a small way 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • elenaflutterfly says:

        Aw thank you!
        I know what you mean!!! And people are like “calm down, there is nothing to worry about, blah… blah”
        I’ve just accepted that this is never going to stop. At least sometimes I can benefit form it, because I can see things that other might not pay attention to.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

